top of page

Heaven in Ordinarie – choral and organ music by Philip Wilby

The Exon Singers directed by Matthew Owens
Jeffrey Makinson organ

Regent Records REGCD338

“the committed, expressive singing of The Exon Singers….will delight listeners” – Gramophone

“superb performances from all concerned” – Choir and Organ Magazine

Best known as one of the most popular British composers for brass band, Philip Wilby also has a long-standing affinity with the medium of choral music. This second recording on Regent Records from the critically-acclaimed Exon Singers, directed by Matthew Owens, features a selection of his approachable sacred choral and organ works.


All first recordings, except track 11.

Click here to download the PDF of published reviews of this disc.

Track listing

Companions of the Lord : An Evensong
1     Introit: Companions of the Lord
2     Preces
3     Psalm 24: The Earth is the Lord’s
4     Scriptural Sentence 1: Genesis 18: 2-3
5     Magnificat (for St Paul’s Cathedral)
6     Scriptural Sentence 2: John 12:1-3
7     Nunc Dimittis (for St Paul’s Cathedral)
8     Responses & Collects
9     Ave Maria
10    Final Responses
11    Organ Voluntary: Recessional on Michael

Two Choral Prayers

12    A Prayer for St Thomas
13    Prayer (men’s voices)

14    Organ Prelude (from A Passion for our Times)

Two Wedding Anthems
15    Breathe on me, Breath of God
16    Thou didst delight my eyes

Prelude, Fugue and Toccata for Organ
17    Prelude
18    Fugue
19    Toccata

bottom of page